Keeping it Real in the Uberconnected Age

We live in the uberconnected age.

It is all too easy to get feel lost in the shuffle of it all, because it is all too easy to see what “everyone” else is doing, via instagram, twitter, facebook, pinterest and blogs that it has become hard not to compare yourself to everyone else.

But that’s my goal.

As a semi-new parent to a 13 month old, I want to set a good example for my son. It’s amazing what a little sponge he is right now, he is literally watching my every move. He walks around the house talking on his fisher-price phone, he goes up to the trash can or the oven and says “no no no”, he hugs his stuffed animals tight.

His curiosity, his laughter and his overall enjoyment of everything life has to offer has been really amazing to witness. Becoming a mom changed my life, but seeing the world through my toddler’s eyes has given me a renewed vitality. It sounds cliche, but I want to be the best me I can be for him, my family, and myself.

In the past I’ve been a pretty committed runner, baker and cook, but sometime in the past 2 years that slowly slipped away from me. I still do all of them occasionally, but not as much as I would like to. Sure, some of it was becoming a first time parent…but another big part of it was wanting to do everything “perfect” or not at all.

This week, I’ve recommitted to getting more exercise, living more in the moment, cooking more often and enjoying every moment. You only live once! I plan to share my journey forward here on Keeping it Real in Rhodey.

Leave a Reply

